Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA)

Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA)

The Kampala City Council Authority

The Authority is a corporate body with perpetual succession and may sue and be sued in its corporate name and do, enjoy or suffer anything that may be done, enjoyed or suffered by a body corporate.

The Authority is the governing body of the Capital City and administers Capital City on behalf of the central government subject to this Act.

Any enactment that applies to a district shall, subject to this Act and with the necessary modifications, apply to the Authority

Composition of Authority

The Authority consists of the following members:-

  1. The Lord Mayor;
  2. The Deputy Lord Mayor;
  3.  One councillor directly elected by secret ballot to represent each electoral area in the Capital City on the basis of universal adult suffrage; 
  4. Two councillors representing the youth, one of whom shall be female; 
  5. Two councillors with a disability representing persons with disabilities, one of whom shall be female;  
  6. Women councillors forming one-third of the Authority such that the councillors elected under paragraphs (c), (d) and  (e) Shall form two-thirds of the Authority.
  7. One councillor representing each of the following professional bodies:- 
  8. A person is not qualified to be a councillor unless he or she is a citizen of Uganda. 
  1. Uganda Institution of Professional Engineers;
  2. Uganda Society of Architects;
  3. Uganda Medical Association;
  4. Uganda Law Society.

Functions of Lord Mayor

The Lord Mayor is the political head of the Capital City presides over all meetings of the Authority, performs ceremonial and civic functions, he also hosts foreign and local dignitaries, heads the Authority in developing strategies and programmes for the development of the Capital City.

Monitor the administration of the Capital City, provide guidance to the division administrations; and represent the Capital City on the Metropolitan Authority.

The Lord Mayor in the performance of his or her functions is answerable to the Authority and the Minister.

The Deputy Lord Mayor assists the Lord Mayor in the performance of his or her functions and otherwise deputise for the Lord Mayor in his or her absence.

Administrative divisions

Kampala is divided into five 5 divisions (

  1. Central,
  2. Kawempe,
  3. Makindye,
  4. Nakawa &
  5. Rubaga), each headed by a popularly elected Mayor. Those divisions are preserved under the new KCCA Law. The table below gives the names of the relevant officials and their areas of responsibility.

Political Leadership

Cabinet Minister Hon. Beti Olive Namisango Kamya Minister for Kampala Capital City and Metropolitan Affairs
State Minister Hon. Benna Namugwanya Minister for Kampala Capital Authority
Lord Mayor Erias Lukwago Lord Mayor of Kampala City
Deputy Lord Mayor Sarah Kanyike Sebaggala Deputy Lord Mayor of Kampala City
Makindye Division
Mayor Kasirye Nganda Ali Mayor for Makindye Division
Town Clerk Godfery Kisekka Town Clerk for Makindye Division
Central Division
Mayor Sserunjogi Charles Musoke Mayor for Kampala Central Division
Town Clerk Robert Katungi Ag. Town Clerk for Central Division
Nakawa Division
Mayor Balimwezo Ronald Nsubuga Mayor for Nakawa Division
Town Clerk Rosette Natumanya Town Clerk for Nakawa Division
Kawempe Division
Mayor Serunjogi Emmanuel Mayor for Kawempe Division
Town Clerk
Ben Bidong
Ag. Town Clerk for Kawempe Division
Rubaga Division
Mayor OWEK. Ssebugwawo Joyce Nabosa Mayor for Rubaga Division
Town Clerk Moses Sempa Town Clerk for Rubaga Division
Reference: https://www.kcca.go.ug/about-the-authority

Create Account

Log In Your Account